In the last ten years, drunk driving has been directly responsible for the deaths of around 10 thousand individuals. College-aged young adults (between the ages of 21 and 24) had the greatest per person death rate from drunk driving vehicle accidents. It is estimated that 2,000 young adults between the ages of 18 and 24 are killed annually in alcohol-related automobile accidents, and that another 120,000 are sent to hospitals for treatment.
In spite of the fact that buying or drinking alcohol in the United States requires you to be at least 21, Mothers Against Drunk Driving found that 18 percent of drivers less than 21 acknowledged doing so. Additionally, one out of every five college students under the age of 21 admitted to driving while under the influence of alcohol. That’s why it’s vital to educate students about this issue and talk to them about the consequences of drunk driving.
How do colleges respond?
Is there anything being done to prevent more college students from dying in drunk driving accidents? Student deaths from binge drinking are a common topic in the news about college campuses. Many institutions have responded to these revelations by tightening their rules and instituting stricter sanctions. The issue of college students dying in car accidents caused by intoxicated drivers is not being addressed as quickly.
Colleges and universities are proactively combating this issue by implementing alcohol addiction prevention strategies that seek to identify and treat students who abuse alcohol. These services assess students’ needs and match them with appropriate treatment options. Besides, many professors recommend drunk driving essays to use for academic needs, so students can learn something new from them. Such essays are available for free at special platforms with sample papers. However, you can also purchase an essay on this topic from an expert academic writer.
The Legal Consequences of Drunk Driving
Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol is illegal in every state.
Get caught driving under the influence and your license will likely be taken away from you. If a chemical test confirms that you drove with a BAC of.08% or above, your license will typically be suspended even if you are not eventually convicted of DUI in a court.
Each state has its own minimum suspension period. Some states have a 30-day minimum license suspension for a first-time DUI offender, while others may restrict your license for a year or more.
When a person accumulates three or more DUI convictions, their driving privileges may be taken away permanently.
A first-time DUI conviction carries an obligatory minimum sentence in around half of the states. Usually, these jail terms range from one day to a week. For instance, a first-time conviction for driving under the influence in Texas carries a mandatory minimum jail term of 72 hours. If a person is arrested for DUI for the first time in New Jersey, they will only have to spend 48 hours in jail. However, if they are arrested for DUI again within 10 years, they will face harsher penalties.
Fees and Penalties
There are usually monetary penalties associated with a conviction for driving while intoxicated. It is common for states to impose a minimum fine of $500 for a first-time DUI offender. In addition to monetary penalties, offenders can face additional costs. For instance, in many jurisdictions, motorists must pay rehabilitation and court costs in order to get their licenses back. There may be a several hundred dollar minimum, or perhaps more.
Some Advice on Personal Safety for College Students
Each student must take individual responsibility for his or her drinking habits and should never consume alcohol before driving a car. All students can benefit from the following advice for reducing their risk of being involved in an accident caused by an intoxicated driver:
If you’re going to be drinking, eat first.
If you’re planning on drinking alcohol, eating beforehand can slow down the rate of absorption and lessen the drowsiness you experience. Limiting alcohol’s negative effects may also be accomplished by drinking water and maintaining a healthy level of hydration during the night of drinking.
Pick a sober driver before you start drinking.
Do it right now, before you start drinking. It’s important to plan ahead about transportation if you plan on drinking.
Contact ride-sharing services.
Nighttime transportation services like Uber and Lyft are convenient.
Make a nighttime reservation
Make preparations to spend the night before attending any event involving alcoholic beverages, whether it’s a party or a hotel.
Be sure to give yourself enough time to recover from drinking alcohol before getting behind the wheel.
There should be a minimum of 90 minutes between drinking and driving. However, it’s ideal if you don’t drive after consuming alcohol.
Intoxicated drivers who escape accidents that leave others injured or dead are nonetheless responsible for dealing with the consequences of their actions. In most cases, the emotional pain caused by the incident is far more detrimental than the physical hurt it caused. When caught driving under the influence, drunk drivers can risk steep penalties, license suspension, and increased insurance rates.
John Marlow is a journalist and writer. He works at a local newspaper, highlighting various events that take place in his residential area. Unfortunately, they include a lot of accidents that occurred because of drunk driving.